Klopp’s comments resurfaces as European Super League plans are confirmed

Previous comments made by Jurgen Klopp on the European Super League have resurfaced after plans for a new breakaway competition were confirmed.

The move is being led by 12 elite clubs including Manchester United, Liverpool, and Arsenal, who are intent on launching a new European tournament to rival the UEFA Champions League.

The 12 founding clubs disclosed their intentions on Sunday night with a formal announcement and three major clubs are expected to join imminently.

The move has been heavily criticized by supporters, fan groups, politicians, and leading football figures like Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville.

READ: Thibaut Courtois – Real Madrid won’t cry about injuries

However, none of the top figures from the clubs involved have broken their silence on the proposals but Jurgen Klopp’s thoughts on the matter from way back in 2019 have resurfaced on social media.

“I hope this Super League will never happen,” he said. “With the way the Champions League is now running, football has a great product, even with the Europa League.

“For me, the Champions League is the Super League, in which you do not always end up playing against the same teams.”

The plans were disclosed on Sunday afternoon and received instant condemnation before the clubs involved released statements just before midnight.

In disclosing the news, Manchester United owner Joel Glazer, who is also the vice-chairman of the Super League, said: “By bringing together the world’s greatest clubs and players to play each other throughout the season, the Super League will open a new chapter for European football, ensuring world-class competition and facilities, and increased financial support for the wider football pyramid.”

READ: Musiala impresses as Bayern edge closer to ninth straight title

Other clubs include Real Madrid, AC Milan, Barcelona, Inter Milan, Juventus, and Atletico Madrid. The likes of Paris Saint-Germain and Bayern Munich are exceptions from the list.

A joint statement from the clubs read: “Twelve of Europe’s leading football clubs have today come together to announce they have agreed to establish a new midweek competition, the Super League, governed by its founding clubs.

“AC Milan, Arsenal, Atletico Madrid, Chelsea, Barcelona, Inter Milan, Juventus, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid, and Tottenham Hotspur have all joined as founding clubs.

“It is anticipated that a further three clubs will join ahead of the inaugural season, which is intended to commence as soon as practicable.”