Luka Modric ends 2018 on a high with Ballon d’Or win

luka modric

Real Madrid star and Croatia international Luka Modric emerged as the first player asides from Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo to be awarded the Ballon d’Or since 2007.

He was officially announced as the winner of the 2018 Ballon d’Or award, which ensured that he ended the memorable year on a high.

The year 2018 is one that Luka Modric won’t be forgetting in a hurry after impressing for both club and country with significant individual awards to show for his efforts.

READ: Azpilicueta signs new four-year deal with Chelsea

Madrid won a third consecutive UEFA Champions League in 2018 and Modric was yet again instrumental in Croatia’s run to the final of the Russia 2018 World Cup where they ended up as runners-up.

Speaking after being presented with the award, Modric said: “It was a really special year for me”

“This award is for all the players who probably deserved to win it and didn’t. It is difficult to express my emotion and how I feel in words. It is something unique for me.”

Meanwhile, former team-mate and five-time Ballon d’Or winner Cristiano Ronaldo came second, followed by Antoine Griezmann on third and Kylian Mbappe of fourth respectively. Lionel Messi came fifth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons