No surprises as Chelsea players dominate UEFA awards

It was an emotional day for Chelsea Football Club and their fans at the UEFA gala night celebration. This was because their Male football players scooped most of the awards slated for best players who had participated and fared well in every UEFA-related tournament in the 2020/21 season.

Most notably, the Men’s player of the year award was given to Chelsea midfielder, Jorge Luiz Frello Filho popularly known as Jorginho.

Some quarters of football observers and fans thought that it shouldn’t have been the Italian, but fellow Chelsea midfielder N’Golo Kante or Manchester City midfielder Kelvin De Bruyne should have won.

However, one cannot under underemphasize his performances for both club and country.

He was unarguably one of the most instrumental midfielders for Chelsea football club on their way to their second UEFA Champions League triumph in ten years.

The stellar performance from the Brazilian-born Italian cannot be out of place to consider for those who deemed him fit and worthy for the UEFA most prestigious award for men category.

READ: Pogba sets 2021/22 Premier League assists target for himself

Kante bagged UEFA midfielder of the year. His solidity and steel for Chelsea last season were a master class and it shouldn’t be out of sorts if he was the candidate for the Men’s Player of the year, but his Country Les Bleus early exit from the Euro 2020 tournament could have been his Achilles heel for the award.

The same goes for the Belgian enlisted, whose country Belgium was sent packing in the Euro 2020 Quarterfinal by Italy.

Meanwhile, Chelsea coach, Thomas Tuchel who’s also Jorginho’s manager was named the UEFA Coach of the Year.

Roberto Mancini (Italy manager came second while Pep Guardiola came third.

Edouard Mendy, Chelsea goalkeeper was also named the best and outstanding keeper of the UEFA Calendar year.

READ: Will PSG have enough firepower to push for UCL triumph this season?

Erling Haaland, Borussia Dortmund’s goal poacher deservedly scooped the best forward of the year prize.

Ruben Diaz, Portugal international and Manchester City defender bagged the best defender award. Other notable awards and winners are;

Alexia Putellas, from (Barcelona’s Femeni team) bagged the women’s player of the year accolade.

Coach of the year (Female) went to Lluis Cortes (Barcelona)

Women’s Goalkeeper of the Champions League season went to Sandra Panos (Barcelona Femeni team)

Defender of the Champions League (Female) was given to Irene Paredes

Women’s Midfielder of the Champions League season was given to Alexia Putellas (Barcelona and Spain)

Women’s Forward of the Champions League season was given to Jennifer Hermoso (Barcelona and Spain)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19 − 8 =