Euro 2020 team of the tournament released, Ronaldo absent

The official Euro 2020 team of the tournament has been released and England’s trio of Harry Maguire, Kyle Walker, and Raheem Sterling made the list. The Three Lions have the most joint representation in the list as champions Italy also boast three members.

Italy goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma was awarded the player of the tournament after his penalty heroics in the competition. He made the list alongside Spanish youngster Pedri.

A notable absence from the list is the Golden Boot winner Cristiano Ronaldo. This is regardless of his five goals and one assist in four games that saw him finish ahead of the Czech Republic’s Patrik Schick.

The full Euro 2020 team of the tournament list comprises; Gianluigi Donnarumma; Kyle Walker, Leonardo Bonucci, Harry Maguire, Leonardo Spinazzola; Jorginho, Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg, Pedri; Federico Chiesa, Romelu Lukaku, Raheem Sterling.

READ: McClaren – England are now contenders for every tournament

Raheem Sterling was criticized at the start of the competition for the Three Lions although he was the one who made things happen.

Regardless, he established himself as England’s key man at Euro 2020 in my opinion and it comes as no surprise that he made the list. He was one of the favorites for the player of the tournament although it was eventually awarded to Italy goalkeeper Donnarumma.

It should be noted that the team is selected by UEFA’s technical observers who also come up with the player of the tournament and young player of the tournament awards.

The observers comprise a mix of former players and coaches and it can be recalled that England boss Gareth Southgate was part of the observers at Euro 2016 when he was in charge of the England U21 side.

Some familiar faces amongst this year’s 16 observers include West Ham manager David Moyes, Fabio Capello, and Robbie Keane.